the aspiring yummy mummy

My adventures into Motherhood

Quel surprise!


Today is my birthday, the first as a Mum, so I didn’t have high expectations for it. It was just another day, still have to get up early, get breakfast for Sofia, do laundry, wash dishes…etc. But then I woke up this morning, and I could hear Sofia in the lounge! She was having breakfast with her Dad, and I thought “that’s nice, Nath said he’d go into work later today.” So I got up and went to see him before he had to leave, to find him still sitting there in his robe. Odd.

On the table was a big present which I ripped into straight away to reveal……..
Breakfast goods?!?! Oh funny, a ‘make your own’ breakfast kit……haha But no, Nath was going to make breakfast for me! And he was going to stay home all day with us! Quel surprise! Inside the card it read titian monotheist, an anagram for me to figure out.

It is in the ottoman! Slipping my hand between the cushion pad and the base revealed another present! A DVD of my favourite kids movie, Sinbad, which I hope to share with Sofia very soon and another card with another clue. X marks the spot! Then I went roaming around the house looking for an X. Not easy when your house is littered with toys and is already in a general state of disarray, and you’ve just woken up. Upon exiting a look around the bathroom, I spotted at the end of the hall an X taped to Sofia’s cupboard! Opening it and seeing a present where the nappies usually live gave me my ‘eureka’ moment. It was a book I’ve had on my Amazon wish list, and inside the front cover was an adorable photo of my girl with a big QR code.

20120109-112831.jpg

More surprises?!?! This was an even better treasure hunt than the Christmas of 2004! After some technical assistance (turns out I don’t know how to use my iPhone to scan QR codes), the code revealed the following message:

20120109-113046.jpg

Now I’m waiting for my girl to wake up from her morning nap, cause then we’re going shopping!!

3 comments on “Quel surprise!

  1. Veerle
    January 9, 2012

    That is soooo cute! Happy birthday:-)

  2. Rachael
    January 9, 2012

    Sounds like a very cool birthday, well done Nathan!!

  3. Mrs Kykea
    January 13, 2012

    What a FANTASTIC husband! All other husbands, please take notes and implement the above accordingly for your darling wives!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2012 by in My personal experience and tagged , , , , , , .
