the aspiring yummy mummy

My adventures into Motherhood

Danger everywhere!


There’s been a terrible earthquake back home, in Christchurch, NZ. I find myself thinking about Sofia and what would I do if we were in danger like that? She’s so precious I can’t (and don’t want to) contemplate anything bad ever happening to my baby but I know that she won’t escape unscathed as she lives her life and it scares the bejeezus out of me.

Right now, while she’s little, I have anxieties over her sneezing! I listen to her boogers going back and forth in her little nose and I’m willing her to either suck them in and eat them or blow them out, because they’re causing her some distress when she’s trying to sleep on her back at night. Plus it makes her a really noisy sleeper in the cot next to our bed….. When we’re out taking public transport, I’m eyeing up the other passengers trying to figure out how germy they might be so I can shield my little girl from their potentially infectious diseases. And then pushing the pram around I’m so cautious, waiting for the green man every single time and constantly on the look-out for rogue cyclists or other hazards in my way. I also have this paranoia that some careless pedestrian is going to spill their hot coffee into the pram or flick their cigarette butt into the pram whilst standing next to us, which makes me wary of all other people on the street.

Still, all this is nothing on what mothers who have missing children in the Christchurch rubble would be feeling right now. So far there’s 75 people dead and 100s more missing. You can make a donation to the Red Cross appeal here.

I know that no matter how hard I try, she will get scrapes and bruises, and she will eventually get her first cold where I will have to watch on helplessly willing her immune system to clear it up quickly, and I will only be able to offer cuddles and comfort – not magic it all away for her even though I’d want to.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 23, 2011 by in Discussion topics and tagged , , , , , , .
